Collaboration with the best recorder builders

As a recorder player, Maurice Steger relies on the world’s best recorder makers, who have the expertise to craft original instruments according to Baroque designs in such a way that the instruments are also suitable for modern concert venues. The artist’s collection of over 70 instruments – which are all in different pitches and sizes, and which feature a variety of characteristics – forms the foundations of his entire recorder repertoire.

Various recorder makers have contributed to Maurice Steger’s impressive instrument collection – particularly worthy of mention is the long-standing collaboration with four Swiss recorder-making specialists, who produce instruments of many different types.

 

Heinz Ammann, Andreas Schwob and Küng Recorder Manufacturing Company

Heinz Ammann, who has made many original instruments according to Baroque designs; Andreas Schwob, who for many years now has specialised in the making of recorders for Renaissance and Early Baroque music (many of his instruments can be heard in the album Venezia 1625); Küng Recorder Manufacturing Company in Schaffhausen, with whom Maurice Steger has enjoyed a long-standing collaboration creating recorders with modern pitches, which he uses for playing with modern orchestras and for the Tino Flautino children’s projects.


Intensive collaboration with Ernst Meyer

Maurice Steger’s most intensive collaboration, however, is with the maître flutier Ernst Meyer. For many years now, the two have worked together time and again in search of the ideal sound, mutually encouraging and inspiring one another. This collaboration has resulted in the richest and most vibrant instruments. Ernst Meyer specialises in instruments with rare pitches, as well as in the two most popular treble recorders, made according to designs by J. Denner and P.I. Bressan, and whose sounds are uniquely rich and flexible thanks to highly specialised and micro-technically fine voicing.

Baroque Recorders:

Frederick Morgan  (AUS)

Adrian Brown (NL) 
Web

Heinz Ammann (CH)
 
Web

Shigeharu Hirao (J) 
Web

Ralf Ehlert (D) 
Web

Francesco Li Virghi (I) 
Web

Ernst Meyer (CH) 
pdf

Renaissance and early Baroque:

Andreas Schwob (CH) pdf

Instruments in modern pitch:

Huber (CH) 
Web

Moeck (D) 
Web

Küng (CH) 
Web

Zusammenarbeit mit den besten Blockflötenbauern

Als Blockflötist verlässt sich Maurice Steger auf die weltbesten Flötenbauer, welche es verstehen, Originalinstrumente nach barockem Vorbild so zu bauen, dass sie auch für moderne Konzertsäle geeignet sind. Die über 70 Instrumente in verschiedenen Stimmungen, Grössen und mit unterschiedlichen Charakteristika bilden die Basis für das gesamte Blockflötenrepertoire des Künstlers.

Verschiedene Blockflötenbauer haben zur beeindruckenden Instrumentensammlung von Maurice Steger beigetragen – besonders hervorzuheben ist die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit vier Schweizer Spezialisten des Blockflötenbaus unterschiedlichster Prägung.

 

Heinz Ammann, Andreas Schwob und Küng Blockflötenmanufaktur

Heinz Ammann, der sehr viele Originale nach barockem Vorbild gebaut hat, Andreas Schwob, der sich seit vielen Jahren auf den Bau von Blockflöten für Renaissance- und Frühbarockmusik spezialisiert hat (viele seiner Instrumente sind im Album Venezia 1625 zu hören), die Küng Flötenmanufaktur in Schaffhausen, mit der Maurice Steger eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit für Flöten in moderner Stimmung für das Spiel mit modernen Orchestern und für die Tino Flautino Kinderprojekte verbindet.

 

Intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Ernst Meyer

Die intensivste Zusammenarbeit besteht jedoch zwischen Maurice Steger und dem Maître Flutier Ernst Meyer. Seit vielen Jahren suchen die beiden immer wieder gemeinsam nach neuen Klangidealen und haben sich gegenseitig beflügelt und inspiriert. Aus dieser Zusammenarbeit entstanden die vollsten und farbigen Instrumente; Ernst Meyer spezialisiert sich auf Instrumente in raren Stimmtonlagen sowie auf die beiden am meisten nachgefragten Altblockflöten nach Vorbildern von J. Denner und P.I. Bressan, deren Klang dank hochspezialisiertem und mikrotechnisch feinem Voicing in beiden Fällen einzigartig voll und flexibel ist.

Barocke Blockflöten:

Frederick Morgan  (AUS)

Adrian Brown (NL) 
Web

Heinz Ammann (CH)
 
Web

Shigeharu Hirao (J) 
Web

Ralf Ehlert (D) 
Web

Francesco Li Virghi (I) 
Web

Ernst Meyer (CH) 
pdf

Renaissance und frühbarocke Instrumente:

Andreas Schwob (CH) pdf

Instrumente in moderner Stimmung:

Huber (CH) 
Web

Moeck (D) 
Web

Küng (CH) 
Web